• language-cn
tracking pixel image
Event When are you visiting?
Zhang Plays Rach 2 at Segerstrom Center for the Arts

Zhang Plays Rach 2 at Segerstrom Center for the Arts

Start Date: December 2, 2021
End Date: December 4, 2021
Start Time: 8:00 p.m.
Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall, 600 Town Center Dr, Costa Mesa, CA
Event Event Event

Event Description

The Washington Post described pianist Haochen Zhang as having an “imagination that keeps you on the edge of your seat and breathless to hear what comes next”— a worthy challenger to Rachmaninoff’s immense Piano Concerto No. 2. Following are two pieces drawn from fantasy: Debussy sets the scene for fauns and nymphs in “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun” and Stravinsky transports you to a world where an evil sorcerer collides with a magical firebird.



  • Markus Stenz, conductor
  • Haochen Zhang, piano
  • Pacific Symphony



  • RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 2
  • DEBUSSY: “Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun”
  • STRAVINSKY: Suite from “The Firebird” (1945)


Preview Talk with host Alan Chapman at 7:00 p.m. Doors open at 6:45 p.m.


Tickets start at $25


Audience Advisory:

All ticket holders must wear a mask AND provide proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 or a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken within 72 hours of performance. Guests over the age of 18 must also bring photo ID.

Events on