Lions Park was originally developed in 1940 as Costa Mesa Park after the citizens of the unincorporated community named Costa Mesa petitioned Orange County for a park district. The 10-acre site Alice Plumer, who had chosen the community's name in 1920. Many years later this county park area was transferred to the incorporated City of Costa Mesa and in the late 1970’s the name was changed to Lions Park.
The 10-acre park includes Davis Field, the Costa Mesa Historical Society, the Downtown Recreation Center, the Neighborhood Community Center, Costa Mesa Donald Dungan Library and Fire Station 5. Lions Park has 13 picnic tables, two barbecues, one hot coal dispenser, one electric outlet, a drinking fountain, a shelter, a restroom, one playground and one softball field with bleachers.
Lions Park was the location for the annual fish fry for several years, however, the community event was moved to Fairview Park in 2012 to accommodate its growth.